First day on the new job

So my first day on the job has come and gone, and it went well. Although I really can’t say I didn’t know what to expect, it’s not like Declan is a day old or anything, and I only worked 2-3 days a week out of the house before now. So I guess I should say my first day in my now full-time job is done.

But of course, I wasn’t prepared at all, at least not in the ways I was hoping to be.

See, I have a whole plan of action for my new life. More like a mission.

My mission includes:

  • learn precise time management so that I can accomplish something other than finishing my coffee and watching Lifetime
  • I want to bathe at least every other day ( if you aren’t a mom, you may think that is gross. If you are a mom, you know that is industrious. Notice I did not mention leg-shaving. One step at a time, folks)
  • dress myself in something matching (matching PJ sets do not count)
  • complete at least 2 chores outside of errands and cooking (put toys away, make bed, clean toilet, etc.)
  • cook dinner most nights
  • retain some sanity

I know I didn’t mention anything about Declan, but that’s because he’s taken care of. I don’t have to prioritize his needs, they are always met, period. With the exception of good sleep. My No. 1 most-desired, yet most-difficult goal is to teach my child to sleep. He hates sleep, and since he is otherwise the happiest baby I’ve ever seen, I’ve always been ok with it. I don’t buy into hardcore sleep training; I think babies are either good sleepers or bad sleepers. I know there are things I can do to make it better for him, and I’m working on that, but I’m really kinda holding out for him to turn 1 and just magically start sleeping. I know, stupid. Since 7:30 tonight, he’s been up more times than I can count. But he also refused to take an afternoon nap despite an hour of trying. He didn’t cry for an hour, he just stared at me or, his latest, laughed at me when I laid him down. Nice. The kid can be barely conscious and when I lay him in his crib, and suddenly I’m the funniest thing since Elmo. Which is surprisingly annoying, but I digress.

Part of my mission is also to save lots and lots of money since I am no longer employed. So my strategy to accomplish that, and also the cooking (since Paul is warily handing that duty over to me), is to meal plan at least weekly, if not monthly, and become a coupon fanatic. I’ve signed up for CouponMom.com and plan on spending a good amount of time each Sunday looking through cookbooks, making a very succinct grocery list and then scouring the site for every coupon possible. I then will plan multiple grocery store trips, if necessary, to make sure I save, save, save! Luckily, there are a few grocery stores very near by, so wasting gas shouldn’t be an issue.

So for the past week, I’ve been mentally preparing myself for Sunday, even telling Paul, “OK, be ready to be on baby duty for awhile, I gotta work!!!”

And then Sunday morning, about 1 a.m., I’m hugging the toilet. No, I didn’t have a wild night. I had a stomach bug. Luckily, it only held on for a few hours, but I took some prescription anti-nausea medicine and slept until noon, got up, brushed my teeth, had some water and went back to sleep until 3 p.m. I was back in bed by 10 and slept until Declan needed a paci at 4:30 a.m.

So I did not accomplish any of my missions, but I am the most rested I’ve been since he was conceived, so that has to count for something.

Luckily, a friend of mine from Babycenter.com gave me a heads up that Krogers is having a huge sale on Luvs, so my time spent wasting time online today wasn’t for nothing!

So tomorrow is Day 2 on the job, and I’m no more prepared than I was today. But I’ll get around to it one day, when none of us are sick, I haven’t been up all night, I don’t have to make an emergency run for diapers/wipes/formula/aspirin, and I’ve got a few hours to kill.

2016 is just around the corner, right?

7 Comments

Filed under Parenting

7 responses to “First day on the new job

  1. Great work, very interesting content, keep up the good work kind regards mark

  2. Amanda Orrand

    Christi, good luck with the new career! Judson didn’t sleep until he was 15 months!

  3. Scott

    I would have told you about Krogers having a sale on Luvs….if I had known. Alas, like every other non-parent, I pay no attention to it because of lack of relevance to my daily life. Selfish, I know!

  4. Alexia

    Let me know if you figure out coupons! I find them too challenging. I’m sure I’ve completely overwhelmed what should be a simple process.

  5. Paul

    Ollie doesn’t like to take a nap either, and he fights going to sleep like a man condemned.

    I loved the comment about showering. I’ve been late to more than one meeting or class because my wife has said, “you can’t leave until I get a shower, so you have to watch Ollie.”

    Love the writing! You are very talented.

  6. I’m right there with you. 2 of my resolutions this year include showering and making my bed every day BEFORE leaving the house. So far I’m 6/6…

  7. Laura

    LOVE reading this…esp. the part about accomplishing something other than finishing coffee and watching Lifetime (that is SO me, too). Brenna likes Elmo too, much to my chagrin…our sitter has “Elmo Live” and she’s totally enamored of him. Our friends got her a small stuffed Elmo and she goes ape every single time we pull it out. I feel your pain in that aspect. Am SO enjoying your writing…keep it up!!!

Leave a Reply

