Starting off on the right foot

OK, this week is going to go better, I just know it. I’m ready. I’m rested.

Bring it.

Anyway, I feel much better facing week 2 of my new job. I busted my ass this morning looking through cookbooks and magazines to make out a great meal plan for the week, and then a damn detailed grocery list. No splurges! No junk! I even ate before I went — that is planning ahead. I did the laundry. Almost all of it, which I hope Paul is grateful for, since that is typically his Sunday chore. AND the clothes are put away. That NEVER happens. Paul did cook dinner tonight, but he asked, for the record.

But my plan to become a coupon fanatic ended up on the cutting room floor. I just don’t get it. I signed up for couponmom.com, which according to Oprah and the Today Show is how you can get like $500 worth of groceries for like $25. It was a waste of my time. The weekly circular wasn’t much help either, so I relied on the tried-and-true method of buying generic when I could and using my member discount card when I could, and after all the effort, I saved $6. Not exactly a down payment on a house, but I guess better than nothing.

The real task for this week, however, is daunting. I must teach my child to sleep. This point was driven home last night when, about 20 minutes after I put him down, he woke up just as I was sitting down to eat. My mom volunteered to go put him back down, and after her magic touch, he slept for 7 hours straight. When he did wake up at 3:45, he proceeded to stare at me for 2 hours as I tried to put him back down. Sigh. He owns me. So finally, I gave in and we got in the bed together and slept peacefully until 8. Did I mention this is a repeat of Friday night, when mom put him down so Paul and I could go to a party? Yea, not a peep until 2. And when daddy went to check on him, it turned into a 2-hour ordeal. His first word is going to be “sucker.”

In the scheme of things, co-sleeping’s not horrible. Tons of people co-sleep and I think that’s fine, if it works for you. But I never wanted to co-sleep, especially in a bed that’s not mine, without my pillow, with a sack of potatoes kicking and rolling around all night. I obviously sleep pretty lightly with Declan, so while it’s better than listening to him cry all night, it’s not great. Plus, I want to co-sleep on MY terms, not his. And right now, like I said, he owns me.

So no naps on the couch with mom or in the recliner with dad. It’s all crib, all the time. He is NOT going to be happy at 3 a.m. when he wakes up, and I’m sure he will, but can I handle it? I’m not going to let him cry, but can I sit there for hours, exhausted, knowing I can just crawl a few feet away and snuggle with my precious boy? I have to.

So stand with me, tired moms and dads, as I take back the night. Stand with me as I tell my little chubby cherub of a son, “You’re not the boss of me!” Sleep will be mine!!!

6 Comments

Filed under 1

6 responses to “Starting off on the right foot

  1. April Sikes

    Hey Christi,

    Love reading your blog…very exciting!! Your writing is great, and funny!!

    I don’t do coupons either, but do the shopping at a place called “No Frills” (you get the picture)…aka the “banana” store to the boys (due to all the bananas on the sign). What money I’d save isn’t worth the running around from store to store, I find. I’m also struggling with planning meals…it is tough to keep up with. I’m right there with you.

    Ben does most of the dinnertime cooking around here, and the laundry. You’re not alone on that one…but, don’t underestimate the value of what you do with Declan. You’re pulling your weight, trust me!!

    I’ve been a bit bummed lately about being a SAHM (I blame Canada…where has all the sunshine gone?) It’s hard work, regardless of how much you adore your children, or whether it’s by choice, or not.

    Just wanted to say that I’m feeling your pain, and am dealing with the same issues (except the sleeping part, two words…Ferber method).

    Can’t wait to read more!! Oh, and I never bathe;)
    Cheers,
    April

  2. I’m not great at coupons either. I think some people are REALLY into it, but you have to have time to get it all figured out, and I just don’t have that time! If I find a coupon for something I buy, I use it. Otherwise, I compare prices, buy store brand, and watch for sales!

  3. Heather

    I agree about the coupon thing. I’ve tried several online sites, and I clip from the Sunday paper. However, most of the coupons are not relevant to us, meaning we don’t use the product. If you are hearing of people saving tons of money, I’m wondering if they live somewhere out of state. I have friends that shop at places like Publix and Trader Joe’s and save tons of money, but we don’t have those. Store savings card are a necessity, and generics can save lots, too. Kroger is my fav-with or without coupons.
    Also, if you are only cooking for yourself and Paul, try planning 3-4 meals a week, and add leftovers into the rotation. I try to cook good meals, but my kids are picking, and my husband is rarely home for dinner (and now I’m not that much either), so it’s a waste for me to cook something with all the food groups every night. What about soups you can cook in batches and freeze, same with pastas. Anyway, love the blog!

  4. Hey Christi,
    I am a coupon saving mom. I do save quite a bit of money doing it but I am very selective as to what I buy and when I buy it. I clip all the coupons of stuff we use or have used in the past then I watch the ads, ALL the ads. We have few different grocery stores than you all but I know we both have Krogers and found I can benefit greatly if I watch their ad. They run a lot of 10 for $10. When they do we stock up. I don’t know if the Krogers there still do it but ours still offer double coupons which is a huge factor if you have good (.75) coupons. You can save quite a bit there. I know Ingles does double coupons as well. Another good place to watch is CVS and Walgreens. Believe it or not they both run great sales and the coupons of health care, snacks and home stuff end up getting you free stuff at CVS a lot. Our budget is super tight around here so I have found lots of ways to pinch pennies. (check out the Money Saving Mom blog I have linked on my blog. Not all the sales will apply to your market but she is awesome at telling you about great deals and where to find them. Her big shopping place is Aldi and I know they put one of those off of Clinton Hwy recently.)

    Making meal menus is not easy. I sit down with my cookbooks (35 of them) every 2 weeks and plan meals. Then I do just as you did and plan my detailed grocery list. When I get to the store if what I need is super expensive then I will find a subsitute I can use that is cheaper. (for example: Ritz crackers are expensive so I either buy the off brand or I get the generic cornflakes as a topper for casseroles) I have found that if I leave one day open a week in my menu then that leaves me room to move stuff around. That way if we go to a friends house or out then I have not thrown my whole menu off, I just move things around. I also do a lot of foods that I can make 2 of and freeze. I don’t know if any of this will help you but it might make things a little easier in the insanity of trying to save money while meal planning and grocery shopping.

    I love blog! You are a wonderful writer.

  5. Alexia

    Christi,
    I feel your pain about sleep training. Some babies are honestly better sleepers than others, but that doesn’t mean Declan can’t improve. Tristan gave us fits for ages with almost the exact same thing. Lorelei, bless her heart, never had a chance to develop the same tendencies, which I really think is the major issue. Or at least it was for us. Just psyche yourself up and know that whatever method you choose is going to take a commitment to consistency. I found consistency really hard with Tristan, but didn’t have much choice by the time Lorelei joined us.

    On the coupon front I still struggle, but have had better luck lately printing off coupons that I feel might be useful. Also one thing I’ve found is that certain stores have better prices on specific items consistently. I figured this out since I have to shop Kroger and Food City to find enough variety of brands to compensate for Lorelei’s nut allergies. I don’t shop them both each week, but I do stock up on those certain items when I can. I used 6 coupons this weekend. That is a personal best for me, so don’t despair. We all have room for improvement.

    Good luck on getting more sleep!!!

  6. Karen Knotts

    Hey! I have a great idea for anyone trying to save money on groceries. I went to the DRS grocery outlet in Aloca and found some great stuff for super cheap. Barilla pasta, Pepperidge Farm cookies and goldfish, Barilla sauce, Newman’s Own salsa, salad dressing and popcorn, Bush’s beans, etc. It was awesome! I spent $30 and had a huge tote bag full of pantry staples. You should check it out.

Leave a Reply

