Person most wanted

People often say how lucky I am to have two boys because “boys just love their mamas!” And while I am super lucky to have my boys, I’ve known pretty much from the beginning that I am not No. 1 in their lives.

With Declan, as soon as he could see clearly, my mom became his favorite person. I’ve always said he would gladly leave me in a ditch for his BeBe. Kids always love their grandparents (what’s not to love? All the cookies you can eat and no time outs! Sign me up!), and Declan is no different. In fact, all of his grandparents rank higher than me on his list of favorite people. I’ve yet to hear him tell one of them “No, you can’t come downstairs with me! You go UPSTAIRS!” during play time. He has lately become a huge daddy’s boy and actually cries when he leaves some mornings. He doesn’t notice when I drop him off at the gym and cries when I come get him. I’ve accepted this, and I’m totally fine with my place on the list, which I think falls somewhere between the cute teenaged girls on our street and the nurse at the doctor’s office that holds him down for his shots. But that nurse gives out stickers, so I may fall below her.

Anyway, with Simon, you’d think that since we are breastfeeding, I’d be Numero Uno in his world. Wrong. He does seem to hold me in a bit higher esteem than Declan ever has, but I’m pretty sure that’s because he knows I’m the primary food source. He certainly doesn’t cry when I leave him at home, with BeBe (of course not, nobody cries when they are left with her) or at the gym. And now that he’s eating solids and takes an occasional bottle, Paul and I are on equal footing with him, I think. I am positive the cat ranks higher than me because he goes ballistic when she’s around, and he will stop nursing to laugh and play with her, so yea, she wins that battle.

But of course the absolute best person in Simon’s eyes is none other than his big brother.

There is NO ONE that makes Simon happier than Declan. I’ve written about this before, but it still never ceases to amaze me how much he adores his brother. No one could have prepared me for how totally amazing it is to see his adoration, especially while we are in the calm before the storm that will come when Simon is officially mobile and in Declan’s stuff. Because after babysitting in my home for the past 2 years I’ve learned that Declan adores other kids until they touch his toys. He’s going to lose his shit when he realizes he had it easy before, because the kids I babysat at least went home at the end of the day.

Anyway, today was one of those great days where the brother adoration was at an all-time high. We were leaving a toy store and I knew Simon was tired and hungry. I decided to risk the 25 minute drive home without feeding him first, hoping that he’d either pass our or not scream bloody murder until we got on the interstate. Instead, I listened to two boys giggle and cackle for the full ride home. I have no idea what was so funny, and I’m sure most of the time, I won’t. But listening to Simon laugh hysterically at Declan, which prompted Declan to put on a show for Simon, which led to even more laughing was the perfect way to spend the drive.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

