Big girl writing

So I just stumbled across a web site that has my mind reeling. Seriously, the longer I sit here reading it and thinking about it, the more excited I am getting.

It’s called Write on Edge, and according to their description, it’s “where inspiration meets community.” OK, what does that mean? From what I can gather, the editors of the site post “prompts” on Tuesdays and Fridays. On Tuesdays, they present a topic and writers can either publish a fiction or nonfiction piece based on the prompt. On Fridays, memoirs are the focus. I guess you blog on the topic or prompt and then link up to it, and other writers critique it? No idea. But I’m intrigued.

The more I think about it, the more I want to write. Somehow, I want to be a writer. What does that mean? I don’t know. I don’t know what possibilities are out there, what to shoot for or where to start. I guess all I can do for now is write and get involved with groups like this to put stuff out there more.

So while this blog has primarily been my spot to reflect on my life as a SAHM and modern housewife, as I get more involved with the WOE site (assuming I do get more involved), some pretty random posts may show up here. I welcome any and all feedback, bad or good. I hope getting involved in this will push me to stretch my writing muscles. As I wrote about recently, I’m doing my best to challenge myself physically right now by getting into shape, so this is a way to challenge myself mentally. Hopefully I will see results and enjoy myself just as much with this new adventure as at the gym. At least it’s free!

The topic for this week has to do with worst memories, so my first shot at this may be a doozy. Stay tuned! (ETA: I’m wrong, that was last week’s topic. But stay tuned anyway!)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Big girl writing

  1. I think it sounds very interesting.

Leave a Reply

