Happy Fall, Ya’ll!

Labor Day has come and gone, and not only does that signify the end of summer, it kicks off my favorite time of year: Holiday Decor Season!

It is ON, people. It may be nearly 2 months til Halloween, but my pumpkins are ripe for a’pickin. Or a’harvestin. Or whatever.

Seriously, I am in full-on GEEK OUT mode. It all started with an innocent trip to Yankee Candle. I figured I’d pick out a few new tarts for the ole warmer (P.S. All tarts and votives are $1 through Sunday, great deal!) to get the house smelling all warm and spicy. Now that it’s finally below 100 and we haven’t seen the sun in a week, a little Spiced Orange Leafy Pumpkin or Warm Halloween Harvest Apple Cider wafting through the house was just what the doctor ordered.

It's beginning to smell alot like pumpkins...

I loaded up on every Harvest Spicy Pumpkin Autumn Pie fragrance the store had, and from there, it was all down hill. As the house was filling with the smell of pies baking (I guess that’s what it smells like, I don’t bake pies), my mind started racing: As long as I have these new yummy Autumn Cinnamon Stick Pumpkin Spice Halloween votives, I might as well get out my ghost candle holder to put one in. And as long as I’m digging around in the holiday bins, I should just go ahead and find that cute scarecrow for the living room. And since I’ll be getting the stuff out, I might as well hang that berry-covered “Welcome” pumpkin made of twine and sticks on the door. And if Declan wants to go ahead and wear this orange tshirt with the ghost on it, that would be ok with me… 

As long as I have the candles, I have to put them in something...

So by the end of the day, Halloween had arrived.

Of course, the next day a trip to Target made things way worse. I just had to swing through the holiday section (soon to take the place of the back-to-school section, since school has been in session for, oh, 2 weeks now), and that little jaunt meant coming home with a “craft pumpkin,” stick-on pumpkin faces, a haunted house candle holder and other boo-tiful accouterments for the house.

Every holiday should have its own salt shaker.

Declan and I also busted out some pumpkin muffin mix and made mini muffin doughnuts that had the house smelling delish (well, it was either the muffins or the 45 different pumpkin scents coming out of the candles, tart warmer and room fresheners).

Once the baking begins, it's all down hill from there. Up next? Puppy Chow.

Seriously, it is Sept. 8. I’m out of control. Baking? Already?

I don’t feel bad, though. Getting all overzealous and tacky with holiday crap is one of the best things about being a parent, at least for  me. I love holidays, always have. I love Easter baskets and fireworks and cornucopias and don’t even get me started on Christmas stuff. Since Declan was born, my love of holidays has ramped up every year, and now we have reached the magic age range where all holidays are AWESOME for kids. I figure, if I’m lucky, I get from 3 to 9 before that magic starts to fade some and coolness kicks in with the tween hormone surges. I know the holidays will always be special and fun, but the real mystique and excitement of ghosts and Santa and the Easter Bunny is pretty limited. So I am going to make the most of it while I can.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Happy Fall, Ya’ll!

  1. NSC

    LOL!! I am SOO glad I’m not the only one thinking about Halloween already! I almost got out the yard decorations yesterday, but the thought of DH’s reaction stopped me…he is truly the Grinch.

  2. Christi Wampler

    My husband luckily has accepted my decoration obsession and just rolls his eyes. I actually told him that this year for Christmas, I want no presents, instead I want to spend the money he would have spent on me on more decorations. Seriously.

  3. I love all the Fall decorations and especially the Yankee candles.
    The house always smells so cozy and good. I have them burning when i am here alone all day.
    Yeah for you following that pattern.

  4. Bonnie Christofferson

    It’s so nice to know I am not alone. I live in Arizona, and the only thing that gets me in an Autumn mood is the decorations and scents. Love the Autumn Wreath scent from Yankee!

  5. Christi Wampler

    Have you always lived there? It would be tough to move some place with 4 seasons to a place with essentially 1! Tennessee has about a million flaws, but our autumn just about makes up for them all!! And yes, I love Autumn Wreath!

  6. Bonnie Christofferson

    We have lived hear for 14 years. I grew up in the all over the East coast and Midwest (Army brat!). I miss Fall soooo much, but our life is here. All of my home decor is in Fall colors! That’s how I get my fix!

Leave a Reply

