I’ve made it.

Ya’ll, for real, I’m big time. Major. For realz.

My deep, dark secret is that my dream in life is to be a writer when I grow up. I don’t even know what kind of writer, just someone who gets paid to write something. So that’s where this little blog came from. It’s my starting point to living the oh-so-cliched dream and find my voice and all that crap.

I was already feeling successful because people I don’t even know are reading my blog and commenting. Total strangers! That’s huge. I mean, my family is obligated to read this crap and pretend that they care, but for people that aren’t even biologically connected to me to waste take the time to read my ramblings means I’m making steps toward living the dream. Watch out, MTV Cribs! You will be in Knoxville any day now! (Is that show even on the air any more? I have no idea.)

Anyway, imagine my shock when a couple of weeks ago, a HILARIOUS web site called Aiming Low accepted one of my blog posts and published it on their site. I mean, for an ego maniac like me, this was hitting pay dirt. And the site is called “AIMING LOW.” It’s fate. No one aims lower than me. No one.

So I have been feeling pretty good about myself lately, which is always annoying because then I get all showy and try to tell too many jokes and think I look good in straight leg jeans (I don’t), but I feel like I’m hitting my stride. I feel like I might just be able to, one day, make something of all this nonsense.

That day is today.

So, I get this notification from my blog hosting site that one of my posts has been “Pinged.” I, of course, have no clue what this means, so I go digging around on the site to figure it out.

Get this.

One of my posts (the same one Aiming Low thought was funny enough to publish) was linked in an article about talking to your kids about sex. Fair enough. BUT. My post was used in reference to what NOT to do in regards to what you should teach your kids to call their genitals. SCORE! I’m the “how NOT to talk to your kids” mom. Fabulous. I always knew nobody should listen to me.

The icing on the cake? The web site that linked to my blog is run by a group of moms who work for a sex toy shop, and the article is about a “Sex Positive Parenting Series” at one of the sex toy stores in Seattle. My little old blog caught the attention of dildo dealers on the West Coast!!!! Classic.

As if this wasn’t enough, and it really and truly is, I kept digging around on my site stats. I found that another site, unknown to me, was recommending my blog to its readers. I am a big believer that any publicity is good publicity, so imagine my delight when I saw that Treatmentforhemorrhoid.org features a link to my blog on their site.

Hemorrhoids and sex toys and me. I’m made it.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “I’ve made it.

  1. Bonnie

    This makes me happy beyond words. You know who else will love it? My husband. I’m linking him now.

  2. Christi Wampler

    I love you.

  3. Jennifer

    Awesome! 🙂 You crack me up!

  4. Honestly, this is fantastic! I always knew you had made it in mybook…but this? This is classic!!!

  5. I always knew you were a pain in the butt!!

  6. This is great and only you Christi You have made it into the big business and that is big business hahaha
    Love reading them

  7. Wow, Christi. I am just amazed at your warp speed blastoff into super momblog stardom. Bravo, bravo. I, too, share a dream like this. But I don’t have the ovaries to actually post my thoughts….. so I will just spend my kudos here and appreciate that another sometimes-foul-mouthed mom with no clue as to how to raise a well rounded son is shining the light for the rest of us 😉 JOKING – you are doing a fabulous job and I applaud you.

  8. Alexia

    So very funny Christi. Way to go!

  9. NSC

    Wow….I’ve only dreamed of being in blog-heaven like you are now. I get excited anytime someone other than my sister visits mine! Way to go!

  10. Christi Wampler

    Thank you all for you sweet words! But honestly, if hemorrhoid treatment web sites are what you are aiming for, I have to encourage you to aim higher.

  11. This page truly has all the information I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

