Dear Hasbro..

I’m annoyed.

I want an Easy Bake Oven for my son, but it only comes in purple.

It comes with pink sprinkles, too. Of course.

I’m not against purple toys for my sons. Hello, I want him to have an Easy Bake Oven. But I don’t want it to scream GIRL, you know? I’m very progressive, I think. I don’t worry about “gender roles” or “bullshit” like that. You want a doll? Fine. Here. Take it. I don’t care. You want to use the doll as a machine gun? Go for it. I’m only concerned if you start burning the cat or using my good jewelry as a lasso.

But I find it presumptuous and really pretty stupid that a toy oven (that cooks pretzels AND pizzas now. That SCREAMS stadium food, no? Such boyness. Gah.) can’t come in more than one color, considering the fact that most chefs are men. And this blatant sexism or whatever appears to only pertain to the Easy Bake Oven. If I want to get Declan a play kitchen, I’ve got it made. There are toy kitchens out there that look like Wolfang Puck designed them for Sur la Table. They cost about the same, too. But they do NOTHING.

Look Mom! I can do nothing! And it only costs hundreds and hundreds of dollars!

Declan loves to help me cook. There are very few things that hold his interest for more than oh, say, 3 minutes these days (other than anything produced by Nick Jr.), but for some reason, cooking captivates him. And when he’s captivated, he’s entertained. And when he’s entertained, I can get stuff done, in this case, cooking dinner. So I am all about cultivating this interest. I’m trying to get him interested in vacuuming, mopping and 3 hours of quiet time a day, but so far, no dice.

Anyway, back to my issue. I don’t care to buy him “girly” things, if that’s what he wants. He’s 3. He doesn’t care. He brushes his teeth with a Cinderella Super Spin Brush because that’s what he chose. He has no clue who Cinderella even is, and to be honest, the image of her on the toothbrush isn’t exactly overly feminine, so maybe he thought she was a dude. No clue. Doesn’t matter.

Cinderella the Linebacker

So if he wanted a purple Easy Bake Oven, I’d be fine with that. But I’d like for him to have the choice.

Girls get choices for this crap, BTW. Pink airplanes? Sure.

A pink ATV? Here you go:

But a gender neutral Easy Bake Oven? You have to go back to the original from 1963.

Easy Bake

Anybody got one of these lying around that I can have?

So I’m annoyed. I may just say screw the whole thing and let him pick out a toaster oven instead. At least those come in silver.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Dear Hasbro..

  1. I had that exact oven when I was 6! Had is the key word…my Mom threw everything from my childhood away. (I’m not bitter or anything). So I am unable to help you out there. But I get your frustrations…I do.

  2. Christi Wampler

    Um, my mom threw out ALL my Barbies, and I had over 30. I’m convinced this is they I had sons. Because they have no inheritance.

    I’m so jealous that you had the oven! It’s probably one million dollars today, lol.

  3. my 3 yr old little boy loves to vacuum which sounds nice in theory but he’s not any good at it so it’s super hard to get anything swept unless he gets to take a turn too. He also has a cabbage patch newborn that he loves and it makes his dad crazy 🙂 I couldn’t care less when he want to play with it or the my little ponies at grandmas house.
    good luck with the oven… A toast oven probably costs about the same too.

  4. NSC

    I had a cream colored easy bake oven when I was a kid in the 80’s. Hard to believe you can’t find one now.

    You could always paint the oven…? Of course, toaster oven can be borrowed from child for adult use, like a 3am mini pizza.

  5. Christi Wampler

    I’m loving that we all agree the toaster oven is a good alternative, lol. We already have one, so I’ll just throw some stickers on it and put it in a box with a bow, and he’ll never know, right? lol

    Oh, and if I could find an old EBO, I would, but apparently they are routinely recalled. I guess giving a child a heating/cooking device isn’t really the best idea.

  6. there’s the boy set that makes like the monster brains & stuff. Apparently boys aren’t supposed to cook unless it’s brains…anyway, but I think it’s purple and green too….

Leave a Reply

