A change we can believe in

Like most of the things I care about in this world, I’ve been neglecting my blog lately. Which I don’t want to do, because a couple of weeks go by, then I think “Oh gawd, so much has happened, anything I post is going to be long and rambling and stupid, so I’ll just wait until I have time to do a recap” and then the next thing you know, it’s been 6 months and I’m full of shame and have to quit the internet.

Anyway, even though I haven’t had a super good post ever lately, my blog has been on my mind like always. Paul and I are working together on a full-blown redesign and relaunch of Domestic Disturbia, and I am STOKED. I am ready to put my blog out there with the big dogs and get as famous as, um, all those other totally famous bloggers who are so famous I don’t even have to name them. You know who you are.

The new and improved site is going to be not just my place to rant about how bad I suck at everything I do. It’s going to be more personal, more humorous, have more features and look really freaking awesome (it is the BEST to be married to an amazing web designer). So we are brainstorming and scouring the whole entire internet 24/7 for ideas to copy inspire us, and my little brain is just bursting at the seams with the things I want to include on the new site.

For my faithful followers, I’d love to hear from you, too. What are things that make you read a blog? What makes you come back time and again? What DON’T you like on a blog? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I know we are all super busy and tired during the holidays, so hopefully this is the right time to be a slacker. Stick around, it will be worth it, I promise!

4 Comments

Filed under Parenting

4 responses to “A change we can believe in

  1. NSC

    Awesomeness. That is what makes me follow a blog. And why I follow yours. πŸ™‚

  2. Christi Wampler

    What do you want for Christmas? Because I’m getting it for you.

  3. Ok, I am a very picky blog reader. And since you asked for my $.02, I’ll give it to you πŸ™‚

    1. (givens) I usually read blogs of people I know, or those that I have somethign in common with, such as mons of twins

    2. from there, I like to be able to relate to people. I like when people tell stories but also help me out in the meantime. For example, this mom might be going through something similar but worked her way around it in this manner, etc.

    3. I don’t like blogs that the poster won’t let me relate: such as information only, lots of giveaways and sponsored posts, and photography (there are a few mom blogs that I have stopped reading because all they do is post pictures of their kids)

    4. Love funny blogs. Blogs that make me feel like “you’re not in this alone, look what funny thing happened today”.

    5. I will say that I love your blog. I have read every post that you have written. You are, as you know, an excellent writer and you have the ability to capture your audience. The only “tips” I might give you is that sometimes your posts are long. I read through them all, but I also know you personally, so I love them. A random reader might not stick around, though. Also, girl you gotta post more, lol!! You are too good not to!

    6. One thing you should ask yourself is where you want your blog to go. What do you want out of it? Where do you see it in a year? What is it for? I have gone back and forth with these questions a bunch, and got really into networking this year. An dgot a ton of new followers and started selling ads, etc. However, I am now tried of keeping up with it all, and while I love having all these readers (although not near what other blogs do) I hate the pressur eto feel like I HAVE to blog all the time, and I HAVE to get this ad up, and I HAVE to do this linky, and this networking tool, etc. Its alot of pressure, and it sucks, I’ll be honest. Plus, I felt myself completely going away from what I intended the blog to be: a story of the babes’ life. So, I have kind of taken a step back and let me run the blog, not let the blog run me.

    7. This was wayyy long. Oops. I am pretty connected in the mommy blogosphere. I am happy to listen or help in any way if you want to bounce some ideas off me. πŸ™‚

  4. Christi Wampler

    Mandy, I freaking love you. THANK YOU for your thoughtful post. SERIOUSLY. I would LOVE any advice you have about driving up readership, ads, etc. Your blog is great and you are committed to it and it always looks so professional. Any tips you can give me, I’m all about. You rock.

Leave a Reply

